Flatspot Records

Mizery “Absolute Light”

  • Sale
  • Regular price $25.00

In February 2016, MIZERY – comprising guitarists Anthony Quiroz and Taylor Parker, vocalist Jose Gonzales, drummer Cayle Sain, and bassist Mike Salazar — took over The Pit Studios in Van Nuys with Taylor Young (NAILS, TWITCHING TONGUES, ROTTING OUT) to record Absolute Light, the album delivering ten bruising and infectious tunes, where the hard edge of the band’s music contrasts tastefully with the poetic lyrics, influenced by spiritual topics and philosophical questions. Featuring guest vocals by David Wood (DOWN TO NOTHING, TERROR), Dan Weinraub (DOWNPRESSER), and Anthony Herrera (TAKE OFFENSE), Absolute Light was mixed and mastered by Arthur Rizk (POWER TRIP, WAR HUNGRY) at Solomon’s Gate’s in Philadelphia, and features cover artwork by Sam Octigan (IRON MIND, WARBRAIN, OUTSIDERS CODE).

With a cast of Southern California area musicians currently/formerly involved in TWITCHING TONGUES, DOWNPRESSER, GODS HATE, XIBALBA, THE BEAUTIFUL ONES, and others, MIZERY is a driven and direct metallic hardcore band with eclectic influences that encompass a diverse musical and intellectual concept. The band’s sound falls somewhere in between the direct energy and grit of the NYHC scene, citing the likes of CRO- MAGS, LEEWAY, and CROWN OF THORNZ, with the cutting edge of West Coast thrash metal acts MEGADETH and SUICIDAL TENDENCIES and the like, retaining vintage tones and classic styles, yet delivering them with a modernized approach. This incredibly hard-working band is quickly managing to stir quite a buzz around their craft, working towards the goal of putting San Diego Hardcore on the map and playing music that they would genuinely like to listen to themselves. 

Track Listing:
01. Paramatman
02. One Kiss
03. Mizery
04. Absolute Light
05. The Bvtcher
06. Execution Style
07. Discrimination Of Eye 8. Power Of Peace
09. Injustice 4 All
10. The Hard Goodbye